Writing 101 Day 19- Or what it means to turn forty

dancinglady


                             Happy Birthday To Me!!

Forty? I have been alive for Forty years. Some people put a big emphasis on how old you are. I am not one of those people. Some believe that at Forty you are half way there. Half way where? Is it a pit stop in this race we call life. Am I meant to slide in, thinking

phew I’m half way there as I pour a glass of water over my head to cool down, take a deep breath and keep on running. Half way to the end. Death.

Some believe that 40 is a milestone indicating that you are a lot closer to the end than you think. The hay days are over, time to slow down, check out your super options, make

those final mortgage payments and start researching the less strenuous sports in your neighborhood. Bowls sounds good as you pack up the tennis racket and running shoes.

Image result for running shoes

For others it’s a sign to do something outrageous. Your last chance to be young. Take The CEO who buys a shiny sports car and starts banging his pretty young secretary. He looks at himself smirking at his own reflection, “yes old boy, you may be forty but you can still pull the babes” insert pat on ones own back. Meanwhile said babe is hoping for that long-awaited pay rise, oh and maybe a better car park. She hates having to walk so far in those heals everyday.

Image result for red heels

Others start to panic, Oh No!! as they lament their lost youth, the wasted years, the money they didn’t save, the relationships they didn’t have, its to late, they are forty now, it’s all over. They drown themselves in their sorrow, then continue on as they always have only to do it all again at their fiftieth birthday.

Some forty-year olds think that OK they haven’t exactly looked after themselves but unlike their panicky peers they believe they still have time. Whilst their best mate is packing up his sporting goods they are signing up at the local gym. Scanning the internet for healthy eating ideas and reading books on Tai Chi, relaxation and yoga anyone?

Lots of single forty-year olds decide it’s definitely time to find a spouse. Been on any dating sites lately? Well I have and they are flooded with forty something year olds. Quick find a partner whilst you still can. I know a woman who hit Forty realized that she had not got around to having a baby and started having tons of sex hoping for a sperm to catch in the nick of time.

All of the above are commonly referred to as “The Mid Life Crisis” sound familiar. Yip, it’s that Mid again. Mid meaning the middle of our life, once again we are reminded that we are half way there. Half way where? Oh that’s right the end.

I however have a different view. I have always believed that the years we spend walking on this planet, the actual time period has no bearing on how ‘old’ u are. A young 20-year-old man, who I know and love dearly, happens to be one of the wisest people I know. Every word a pearl of wisdom.(love u son) A 40 something year old woman who dresses like a 14-year-old and plays with Furbys, bless her cotton socks (love u trailblazer)

I had my first son a week after I turned 17. Now i look back and think wow a baby having babies, far to young. Luckily for me and even luckier for baby I took to it like a duck to water, and there are just as many pros as there are cons to being a teenage mum {more of that to come in another rant]

My baby and me
My baby and me

I attended my year 12 pre formal drinks with my one year old son, I sat and smiled and sipped champagne as my friends discussed hair and makeup. i left before the limousine arrived feeling a whole lot older than my seventeen years. When I was twenty-two I found myself single with not one but two little guys who totally depended on me. My high school friends stopped calling, I was to busy thinking about money, teething, kindy gym, toilet training, money, time out chairs and controlled crying, to busy to offer a sympathetic ear to my beautiful twenty-two year old friend trying to decide what dress goes better with her new suede jacket Blue? or Green?

Now I am forty and I am trying to work out what I want to be when I grow up. The kids have left home and I feel like I have my whole life ahead of me. An amazing amount of metime to be who ever or whatever i want. I can also be found on occasion in dark noisy night clubs dancing with the other twenty year olds. And I am uming and arring about my new jacket Green? or  Blue?

One thought on “Writing 101 Day 19- Or what it means to turn forty

  1. You are a young “old soul”. And wise. I’m still wondering who I’ll be when I grow up and I’m seventy-seven. I think life keeps on getting better – like vintage wine..

    Like

Your thoughts

